Constructed in 1894, the Winkler and Barry Block was built in the final portion of the business district to be developed on River Street. The Winkler Building, located on the eastern portion of the block, was described by a local newspaper as being, "the pride of that end of the street.”
Sadly, Robert Winkler, a steamboat engineer, passed away before the building was completed. A short time later, Thomas Barry's building was finished with one of the first occupants being the tailor, M. Borowitz, whose last name continues to adorn the brick frontage of the building.
Much like its original ideal of being “the pride of that end of the street,” many locals still view this building as one of River Street’s most unique structures.