Built by the Pabst Brewing Company of Milwaukee for the purposes of a saloon, this building commenced construction in January 1892 and was finished by July of that same year. Called, “the finest saloon building in the city and furnished in grand style” by one of the local newspapers, the ornamental accoutrements that accompanied this building were lavish. While many of those elements are no longer on the building, the structure continues to remain one of the many gems of River Street.
The building remained a saloon for over 30 years and then a café for over 35 years. For several decades it has housed a jewelry business under various owners.